Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 26th, 2004

I’ve been following an online community for parents of premature babies. I was invited because I had experience with NICU. My third child spent two weeks there. So I stuck around to offer support to families in situations similar to mine.

One little boy Garrett, was born 16 weeks too soon. He was the only survivor of triplets.

Just past his first birthday, he died. His parents are putting this simple phrase on their stone: “Walk softly. A dream lies here.” Those words ring so true.

Garrett’s family have put up a Prematurity Band on the March of Dimes website. The March of Dimes has done so much for infants, and their families. They have backed a lot of research, and educate people on how to prevent birth defects. They support parents who are dealing with an NICU situation. Money to them is money well spent, I think.

If you want to support them, please consider donating in Garrett’s name. Or, if you know someone born prematurely, even if they are older now, and perfectly healthy, consider donating a band in their name. I bet part of the reason they are around today is the education and research March of Dimes has done.

Read Full Post »